Skip to content

Short Term Memory

Well, it’s that time again. Time to break out the passport, pack the bags, and begin a new adventure: Haiti!  It also seems like a good time to finally explain why I picked the name Short Term Memory for this blog back in 2009. I’ve recently had some friends ask where it came from. Here’s the answer.

Short-term: Since I started this blog, I’ve had 4 different addresses and 4 different jobs (I’m counting language learning as a separate job for anyone keeping track). In a week I’ll add a 5th address. In the last 4 years there’s been a lot of moving around, making new friends, saying goodbye, and adjusting to new routines. And that’s only going to continue. We knew getting into this, that our life would be chopped up into a lot of  short-term segments around the globe.

Memory: Each one of those segments has its first impressions, colorful characters, strange sightings, awkward moments, amazing views, language bloopers, unexpected adventures, heartbreaking stories, first-time tastings, and lasting friendships. When I’m in the middle of experiencing those things, I say I’ll never forget. But memories fade.

This blog is a way for me to capture the memories from all of our short-term segments. It’s also a way for me to share those memories with family and friends, since now more than ever, most of the dearest people in my life aren’t physically near me.

So now, onward to Haiti. See you on the other side.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Not that Haiti is that much further from SF than DC is, but I miss you already! Safe travels and a happy settling in, dear friend! That embassy, city, country, doesn’t yet know how lucky it is to have you in town – but it will soon!

    July 24, 2013

Leave a Reply

