Skip to content

Le printemps est arrivé

Spring is finally here. In fact, it has been for a few weeks, but I don’t think I fully enjoyed it until this weekend.  The reason – I passed my French test! Following in the footsteps of my husband who passed earlier. The Department of State is apparently of the opinion that we speak French.

I’m so relieved.  Suddenly, the air is sweeter, the flowers are in bloom and the birds are singing. Ok, I’m being dramatic. But it is amazing how good it feels to have this weight off my shoulders.

Full time language training is such a bizarre thing to do for a job.  Don’t get me wrong; it’s a pretty nice gig to be paid to learn a language. But there is more pressure than I thought there would be to always be “on.”  You could always be studying more, reviewing, reading, watching something, etc. I’m sure that most of the pressure is actually self-imposed. But nevertheless, it’s a huge relief to have passed the test, to be able to continue with the training, and to have our projected arrival date in Haiti still intact.

So what’s next: my husband and I will take several weeks of Haitian Creole and then some other training before we head to Haiti this summer and begin our next tour!

Speaking of spring – our tulips have arrived! These were planted last November:

  • Before either of us knew the subjunctive tense.
  • When we were still reading factual texts and not flowery editorials by rambling French editors-in-chief.
  • Before we could really understand any of the jokes on Le Petit Journal (similar to the Daily Show in French).

And now look at them!

IMG_2204

IMG_2210

IMG_2202 - Version 2

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. I think you might now be in a very select group: Americans who speak three languages!

    April 20, 2013
  2. Aunt Nancy #

    A pleasure, as always, to read your delicious blog! Congratulations on tulips and tests.

    April 24, 2013
  3. Congrats on passing FSI French. It’s no small feat!

    April 29, 2013
  4. Those tulips are lovely! Congratulations on successfully conquering French!

    April 30, 2013

Leave a Reply

