Skip to content

Home: ours and George Washington’s

Our house is finally starting to feel like home. It was half furnished with my things, but it’s starting to feel more complete since we received our household shipment from Nicaragua. For the first time since July 2011, all of our stuff is finally back in one place. Also, having a car is pretty nice. Not only is it much easier to purchase bulky things like firewood (for our fireplace!!), but it means I get to sleep an extra 30 minutes on work days since we no longer have to take the metro/shuttle bus.  It’s pretty wonderful.

We had our first visitors since we moved into our new house. My in-laws came for the weekend and we had a great time seeing them. They helped us hang pictures and take care of some random household projects that needed doing. We ate at The Majestic, a restaurant in Old Town Alexandria we’ve been meaning to check out for a long time. It was fantastic and hands down my new favorite place. Think comfort food with a twist, i.e. cuttlefish risotto (amazing).

Sunday we visited Mount Vernon, George Washington’s estate. It was a gorgeous fall day, perfect for walking around the grounds and touring the mansion.  Apparently when I was 12 years old, my family visited Mount Vernon. But I was coming down with a horrible case of the chicken pox and stayed in the car in a daze. I have no memory of this, but that is what my mom tells me. I’m glad I got the chance to go back and visit. It’s so close to DC, I don’t know why we didn’t go before. If you’re in the area, definitely check it out.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Rebecca #

    I love Mount Vernon! Josh and I got engaged on a beautiful fall day just like that one on the grounds of the estate – so it holds a special place in my heart. 🙂

    October 26, 2012
    • stmemory #

      I didn’t know that! It’s such a gorgeous place – perfect for a special memory. And very patriotic, I might add. 🙂

      October 27, 2012
  2. Love Mt. Vernon as well. Back in the early 80s when I first got to visit there were individual rocking chairs on the back veranda to just sit and watch the river float by. This last summer we went there on my birthday, but we biked it from Old Town Alexandria — beautiful way to arrive!

    October 27, 2012
    • stmemory #

      I would love to bike there. The bike trail looks so beautiful next to the river. I’m sure you saw, but they still have chairs on the back veranda – just not rocking chairs anymore.

      October 27, 2012
      • Yeah, not quite the same when connected and still. The other way made you feel at home. Would recommend the bike route when you get a chance, just be careful on the steep slopes going down. Some of those turns are deadly at high speed and with any wet leaves. Also, bring a change of shirts with you to go into Vernon looking something better than a sweaty mess!

        October 27, 2012
  3. eve #

    okay- my Mt Vernon story… When we lived in Capitol Hill during a-100, we decided to bike out to Mt Vernon one gorgeous fall day, much like the one captured above in your vibrant pictures…. Anyway, about half way through as I was clunking along on my grocery getter bike I realized that the other bikers on the path were dressed in “proper gear” and on slick, light weight bikes. I had NO IDEA what I (or my behind) was in for. It was an incredible day at the estate, but that ride home had me scraping along through old alexandria searching desperately for a taxi… no luck. Lesson learned. Consult map, be prepared!

    November 21, 2012

Leave a Reply

