Skip to content

Adios, Nicaragua

House at Laguna de Apoyo Nicaragua

Last weekend I made my last trip down to Nicaragua to visit my husband before he finishes his tour. Maybe I’ll be back someday, but I don’t know when that will be. I’ve learned to never say never. I lived in Nicaragua for 6 months in college and couldn’t have imagined that I’d return 8 years later as a diplomat’s wife.

It was a short visit but a very relaxing one. We rented a house outside of Managua on a small lake with several friends for a couple of nights. I was glad to have a goodbye lunch with my Nicaraguan friend who I lived with in college, and the boy who was born while I was there – now almost 10 years old!

While I don’t expect to go back any time soon, with my husband still there, I don’t feel like our Nicaragua phase is over yet. Maybe later I’ll have more thoughtful reflections about my time in Nicaragua. But for now, I think this picture sums up some of my favorite parts of Nicaragua: the natural beauty of lakes and volcanos, and the chance to explore the country with some great friends.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. You made some great memories there. Your expat life is sure to benefit from all you experienced there. On to the next chapter!

    May 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

