Skip to content

Half Way There

I can’t believe my first tour is half way over. I’m enjoying my job at Main State and finally feel like I know what I’m doing (most days). Being half way through my first tour also means being half way through a year of living apart from my husband. It hasn’t been as bad as I feared, mostly because we’ve been able to see each other about once a month, but it still is not how life should be. Fortunately, with a time difference of only one or two hours depending on daylight savings, we’ve been able to talk whenever we want to. And the fact that we know we’ll be in language training together and posted to Haiti, makes the separation manageable. There is an end date we can point to on the calendar.

The gaps between seeing each other aren’t fun, but the worst part for me is the day we say goodbye. My husband left this morning to head back to Managua, and my tiny apartment suddenly feels huge and empty without him. I’m not usually an overly sentimental person, but I admit I got a bit sappy when I saw the brochure from the art gallery that we visited Saturday sitting on the table. Even the little suds of shaving foam still on the sink seem to be something special (although that didn’t stop me from wiping them up!). I know I’ll pull it together by tomorrow, but today I can be sad. And that’s ok.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beautiful photo! I am a WordPress photographer too, so I love seeing posts like this. Great job, and keep it up!

    February 26, 2012
  2. Aunt Nancy #

    Yes, sad. A good sign, though, that you miss each other. And when you are together again for good, what a lovely foil this time will become.

    I thought of you tonight when I saw the promo for a PBS special on Haiti and the Dominican Republic. The timing didn’t work for me to see it tonight. I’ll try to catch it another time, and imagine the two of you there.

    February 26, 2012
  3. Glad to hear it’s not as bad as you feared, even if it’s not easy either.

    February 26, 2012
  4. Nomads By Nature #

    The sadness is a sign of good things, good priorities. Sometimes distance is actually helpful. Hoping the second half of your separation flies by smoothly and that your reunions and calls sustain you both til the new assignments start.

    February 27, 2012
  5. Helen #

    My spouse lives overseas right now, too, while I’m on a domestic assignment in DC. We try to see each other every two months for about a week (ugh!). I know exactly how you feel, and I hope you take some comfort in knowing others are going through the same thing!

    March 1, 2012

Leave a Reply

