Skip to content

Happy Year of the Dragon

Last Sunday I went to Chinatown to see DC’s Chinese New Year Festival. Yes, DC has a Chinatown – although it’s nothing to rival New York or even Philadelphia. We have an impressive archway, but most of the stores in the area are things like Chipotle and Ann Taylor Loft with Chinese signage. I’m being a bit unfair. There are legit Chinese businesses in the area. But most of the Chinese residents moved to the suburbs in the 60’s and 70’s. Today there are about 20 ethnic Chinese and other Asian businesses in the area.

So now we begin the year of the Dragon. I was born in the year of the Rooster, which apparently symbolizes such character traits as confidence, pompousness and motivation. I like the confidence part but I hope I’m not pompous (although that is a pretty great word, isn’t it!). How about you? What’s your Chinese Zodiac sign? Here’s a calculator to find out.

DC Chinatown’s Friendship Archway.

I was surprised to see Taiwanese flags everywhere.

The crowds were so thick I couldn’t really see the Dragon Dance, but these people had a great view of the action!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

