Skip to content

Full and Thankful

We had a quiet Thanksgiving for two this year. I ordered a fresh 4 lb turkey breast from Eastern Market instead of making the whole bird for just the two of us. It was so wonderful to have L here and I’m already counting the days until we see each other again at Christmas. I put him to work hanging up shelves, a spice rack and pictures. He put me to work cooking – we only ate out once. (Thank you Aunt Nancy!) But that’s fine with me, I’m happy to cook for more than just myself again. Here is our Thanksgiving Day menu.

1. Mashed potatoes and parsnips with roasted leeks

2. Haricots verts and sugar snap peas with shallots and pine nuts

3. Provençal turkey breast with jus

4. Grilled carrots with balsamic glaze

5. (not pictured) Cranberry-Apple pie

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. eve #

    wow. I REALLY miss EM. What a gorgeous and fresh menu. sigh… I will never again take fresh fruit, veg or limitless cuts of meat for granted again. Lovely flowers too.
    My husband and I were just fantasizing about pizza from 7th hill yesterday. I plan to bust out the pizza stone this week-but it’ll take a while before I can toss the crust like Antonio!

    November 28, 2011
  2. I would love to eat that any day…especially the grilled carrots. YUM!

    November 29, 2011
  3. Aunt Nancy #

    You’re welcome! It was a joy to be with you.

    January 21, 2012

Leave a Reply

