Skip to content

The Bridge Spot

I’m counting down the days until L comes for Thanksgiving. We haven’t seen each other since early October, making this the longest stretch we’ve been apart so far. I’ve been missing him extra these last two weekends because I spent time over on the Eastern Market side of town, our old neighborhood. I like my new apartment, but the Capitol Hill still feels more like home.

On one of my trips over there I checked out the new murals under the bridge at Garfield Park – where L spent numerous Saturdays playing tennis. The Fridge sponsored over 30 artists to paint a section of the wall under the bridge, creating a huge mixed mural. The event took place over Halloween weekend.  The Fridge also has an exhibit called Above the Radar until December 4 featuring nearly 70 graffiti and street artists from the Western United States.

Here are a few photos and a video of the work at the Bridge Spot.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. How cool are those murals! I didn’t even know those were there, I’ll have to check them out.

    November 21, 2011
  2. rebeccayael #

    Beautiful photos, MA! So happy you get to spend Thanksgiving with L! We’ll miss celebrating with you guys!

    November 21, 2011
  3. Chris & Dani #

    Your photos are beautiful and make me miss D.C.! Reading your blog makes me want to start counting down the days until we are back for a few months of brunch, clean air and farmers markets! Congrats on Haiti! That will be an interesting and exciting post for sure!

    November 28, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. All politics is local « Short Term Memory

Leave a Reply

