Skip to content

Flag Day

DC Flag

Flag Day was on Friday and I got exactly what I needed to link up with my husband: a one year DC assignment. I’m so relieved. I thought I had a good chance of getting a DC assignment because most people in our class wanted to be assigned overseas for their first post. But until I had that flag in my hands, I didn’t take anything as a given. My husband has one year left in Managua, so this will allow us to end our first post on the same month, August 2012, and start the next tour together.

The job I’m assigned to will be a good fit. It’s a subject area I’m familiar with but related to a region I haven’t worked in as much. So some things will be familiar, but a lot will be new and challenging. Plus I’m happy to work at Main State for a year and get to know the Department and how the mothership works.

L flew in on Flag Day and will be here for a week. Now our attention turns to finding an apartment because I’ll be off per diem and can’t stay in my Oakwood apartment. But that’s fine with me. I’m excited to move back into the city. Also, L and I will be bidding together for our next post almost immediately.

So now we’re off to check out more apartments!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. bfiles #

    just realized I didn’t hear about your flag day! Congrats! So glad you received an assignment that will work for you two.

    October 3, 2011
  2. Rebecca #

    MORE POSTS! Your fans miss you.

    October 6, 2011

Leave a Reply

