Skip to content

The other Georgetown

“Lately I’ve been noticing that time can expand or contract at will.” – Roberto Bolaño

I can’t tell if A-100 is going by very fast (we’re already half way done) or painfully slow (10 long days until Flag Day). Either way I’ve been enjoying catching up with old friends, getting to know my new classmates, and getting reacquainted with DC. Last week we got out of the classroom (and out of our suits) and headed out of town for the two-day off site. It was great to be outdoors in a much more relaxed setting. They have us pretty packed into our classroom.

On Saturday I did some shopping (mostly of the window variety) in Georgetown. It was a sunny day and lots of people were outside enjoying summer. The Potomac river was sprinkled with boats, kayaks and canoes. Below are a few shots from the Key Bridge.

This week one of our speakers told a story about a FSO formerly stationed in Georgetown – the capital of Guyana. I have a feeling the scene there is a bit different from this Georgetown. I’m guessing they don’t have an Anthropologie or a CB2?

Above: Watergate, the Washington Monument, and the Kennedy Center.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beautiful photography, and I love your insights on the DC Georgetown. It’s kind of funny how such a quaint place can have both such modern and old-fashioned aspects. And I guess by old-fashioned I just mean the feel I get there, that kind of proper sense that fills the air. But anyway. I’ve loved keeping up with your blog this past year, and I guess I just wanted to mention how nice it’s been, both to see your photography, and to read your thoughtful, articulate posts. This is cheesy, but you’ve seriously inspired me.

    August 11, 2011
    • stmemory #

      Thanks! That’s so sweet! Thanks for commenting.

      August 11, 2011

Leave a Reply

