Skip to content

Bilwi’s famous seafood soup

This week I went to the Atlantic Coast of Nicaragua for a couple of days for work. It’s a completely different world from Managua and the Pacific half of the country. The Atlantic Coast is made up of two Autonomous Regions. I went to the town of Puerto Cabezas, also known as Bilwi.

Bilwi is one of the few places in Nicaragua where you will hear more Miskito than Spanish spoken on the street.  At the training event that I went to, the local professor asked the students to state their ethnic heritage: Mestizo, Miskito or Creole (afro-descendent).  Bilwi does have a really unique Caribbean/indigenous/relaxed vibe to it. Although the poverty and isolation was striking.


During my trip I was able to try some of their famous seafood soup, with lobster, shrimp, fish and crab. Thankfully they didn’t put any sea turtle or turtle eggs in the soup. The trip was so short, I’d like to go again to see more of the area – and more amazing soup.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. David Wilcox #

    Sounds like a facinating adventure, yet sobering with those development challenges. You demonstrate commendable cuisine bravery.

    March 26, 2011
  2. easylifestyles #

    I love to travel and I really enjoy reading your blog very much. Thanks for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our website.

    Top Vacation Travel Tips

    March 27, 2011
  3. Winn #

    I recently was in Granada, Nicaragua for a month and while there had lots of time for myself. I think I read my travel books cover to cover and this is one of the places that caught-my-fancy. And the seafood dish looks so yummy.

    I’m enjoying your Blog .. thanks muchly.

    April 4, 2011

Leave a Reply

