Skip to content

Politics as Usual

In general, this blog has been like a polite dinner guest – avoiding a discussion of politics and religion.  But avoiding politics is hard to do in Nicaragua – especially if you work at the US Embassy.  We are two months into an election year and the current president, Daniel Ortega, just announced his candidacy on Saturday to run again. The political billboards, murals, graffiti and bumper stickers that blanket the city are bound to increase.

I’m going to politely excuse myself of further political discussion while distracting you with a few photos I’ve taken recently.  The first two were taken in the city of Masaya and the last one was taken in Leon.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Winn #

    And I’ve seen similar in Granada however it was at night and I didn’t have my camera with me … maybe I’ll see them again. If so, I’ll ensure that I take a photo too!

    More than likely I’ll never have the opportunity to experience this again!

    /Winn

    March 2, 2011
  2. Rebecca #

    I’m so intrigued by the first-name campaigning. Is this a Nicaraguan thing, or is this Ortega’s populism coming through? I’m curious…

    March 4, 2011
  3. Nice photos. I’ll be the dinner guest that interrupts the peaceful mood and say that Ortega es un experto en engañar al pueblo nicaraguense!!

    March 7, 2011

Leave a Reply

