Skip to content

100th Post: 2010 Personal Report

As the 100th post on this blog, I present to you my personal year-end report.  I know the numbers are not that impressive compared to many of you out there.  It’s obvious I should spend more time reading and less time blogging!

My parents arrive this week and I don’t plan on blogging until they are gone. See you in 2011.

For details (or to check my math) click for more.

2 Countries lived in: USA and Nicaragua

8 Flights Taken: I thought I had more! How pedestrian.

9 Books Read: Here is the post I wrote about the first half of 2010.  Complete list below.  And I didn’t count the 4 other books that are half-read on my nightstand.

  1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
  2. The Looming Tower by Lawrence Wright
  3. Zorro by Isabel Allende (in Spanish)
  4. In Other Rooms Other Wonders by Daniyal Mueenuddin
  5. The Savage Detectives by Roberto Bolaño
  6. The Scent of Rain and Lightening by Nancy Pickard (easy read, nothing special)
  7. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot (pretty good, especially if you are interested in science, ethics)
  8. The Sun also Rises by Ernest Hemingway (a classic expat book), and
  9. Guerra en la Penumbra by Daniel Alarcon (great collection of short-stories in Spanish by a Peruvian author)

10 States Visited: DC (ok, so not really a state), VA, MD, CO, IL, NY, PA, DE, NJ, FL

56 Blog Posts: Don’t believe me? Count them yourself. There is a nifty drop down menu in the sidebar to look up past months.

Best Day of the Year, August 9, 2010: This was an amazing day.  It was a Monday, but neither L or I had to work because we were leaving the next day for Nicaragua via Miami.  We were staying at the posh Hotel George, had a delicious lunch at the Taqueria Nacional, and went to see our favorite band, Arcade Fire, put on an amazing show at the Merriweather Post Pavilion.  We were full of expectations for our new adventure in Nicaragua and ready to finally start the Foreign part of Foreign Service Life.

Worst Day of the Year, August 13, 2010: This was the worst day for me, not my husband.  He was off at the Embassy for his first full day of work, meeting interesting people, probably filling out paperwork, learning new acronyms, and generally enjoying the energy of the first day on the job.  Meanwhile, I was home all day. No TV, no internet, no phone, no car, no friends, no idea where I was or if it was safe to walk around the neighborhood by myself.  I was overwhelmingly jealous of my husband.  I wanted to put on a suit on and go into the Embassy too!  When L finally came home, I burst into tears.  Things got better. A LOT better. And now I realize that if that was my low point of the year, it was obviously a pretty good year!

Adios 2010. You’ve been great.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Rebecca #

    What a year! I wanted to call you as planned last weekend, but ended up being on the phone for almost 5 hours trying to figure out flight situations to Prague (we had CRAZY snow here and all travel bets were off). But we made it (and I”m taking a much needed “nap” at the hotel now) – and now I have tons of funny stories to tell you – one including the US Embassy and a very helpful consular officer! Made me think of you guys.🙂 Have SO much fun with your family and I”ll talk to you soon!🙂

    December 23, 2010

Leave a Reply

