Skip to content

Finding da Vinci and Kandinsky in Nicaragua

During our visit to Leon, a town in northern Nicaragua, these two doors caught my eye – although for different reasons.

Door #1 is ornate and classic. It reminds me a bit of this da Vinci paintingGinevra de’ Benci, at the National Gallery of Art in DC.

Door #2 is a splatter of accidental colors and stencils.  It reminds me of this Kandinsky painting, which is more improvisation than accident.  It’s called Improvisation 26 Rowing 1912.

Don’t you wonder what’s behind the doors?

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. LB #

    you are just so dang cultured.

    December 14, 2010
    • stmemory #

      You’re a butthead. How’s that for cultured?

      December 14, 2010
  2. Rebecca #

    I was thinking the exact same thing! I love that you made those connections – I totally see it, but it takes a special eye… I have amazing friends🙂

    December 23, 2010
    • Rebecca #

      I meant it takes a special eye to notice that and make the connection – I’m not giving myself compliments… But now that I think about it…

      December 23, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. New View « Short Term Memory

Leave a Reply

