Skip to content

Drop Cap Recap: November

N

 

 

ovember is whizzing by.  Here’s what we’ve been up to:

  1. Our first ever Marine Ball.  It was a giddy night of fancy dresses, men in uniform, and the annual tradition of cutting a cake with a sword.  Also keeping with tradition, the first piece of cake is fed to the Ambassador, followed by the oldest Marine present (now retired and living in Granada), and then the youngest Marine.  I spent much of the evening on the dance floor while L spent much of it enjoying a good quality Nicaraguan stogie with the boys.  I gave up dragging him to the dance floor years ago.  In keeping with our no-photos-no-names policy on this blog, sadly, I can’t show you a picture of us.  But I think we cleaned up pretty nice.
  2. Work, work, work.  In an attempt to get a lot done before the holiday madness around here, I’ve been busy visiting organizations and attending a conference sponsored by my employer in DC.  From what I’ve heard, December is a lost month.  December 8 is one of the biggest holidays of the year, celebrating the Conception of Maria (more to come on that), and of course Christmas and New Year’s Day.  Setting off fireworks Christmas Eve is a tradition here, but the pops and bangs of fireworks have already begun!
  3. Thanksgiving.  We had a yummy and low-key Thanksgiving Day with another couple and a Peace Corps Volunteer who came from the north of the country and spent the night.  I think she enjoyed a meal without rice and beans and a hot shower.  I was so impressed with what she has accomplished in only 7 months in the country.  She’s working with the community to build her own house with used water bottles as insulation.  Here are photos of a similar project in Guatemala.
  4. Speaking of Thanksgiving, I don’t mean to brag, but the turkey turned out pretty darn good.  I tried dry-brining for the first time.  Here’s the recipe from the New York Times that I used.  But the real star of the show was the stuffing that our guests brought with bits of sausage.  It was amazing.
  5. Slipcovers! And finally, after what turned out to be a longer than expected ordeal, the slipcovers for our two couches are done.  Here are some action shots.  It turned out to be easier to bring the tailor to our house for the day rather than making a million trips to get more measurements or show up only to find it wasn’t quite done yet (again).  I set up the tailor with a spot at the dining room table, turned on the air-conditioning, served her lunch and Coca-Cola, and we both left happy.  She thought I was so weird to cover up the “elegant” blue, red and gold couch in exchange for some gray linen.  To each his own.

Drop Cap “N” by Jessica Hische as part of her Daily Drop Cap Project.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Rebecca #

    1. That turkey sounds amazing.
    2. Plan: Next time we’re all together, you and J can go dancing all night, and L and I will sit somewhere and drink wine and smoke cigars.
    3. I’m waiting for the all-important update: How is the novel coming?!?

    NB: Just because I comment on every single post, doesn’t mean I’m stalking you. I think.

    November 29, 2010
    • stmemory #

      You had to bring up the novel, didn’t you! Well, sadly I did not meet (or come very close) to the required word count. But hopefully I’ll keep working on it. I have the story in my head, I just have to put it down!

      P.S. Every comment makes my day, so stalk on, my friend.

      November 30, 2010
  2. bfiles #

    sounds like you’ve been busy! love the slipcovers. but what, you didn’t like the crazy blue couch pattern? I’m thinking that’ll be perfect for my kids- couldn’t find a stain on there if you tried.
    Happy holidays!

    December 10, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. First Impressions | Short Term Memory

Leave a Reply

