Skip to content

Now or Never

I’m going to write a novel.  Absurd, right?

Yes.  Let me explain.  I’m going to participate in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) which challenges you to write a 50,000 word novel in the month of November.

Why would I do such a thing?  Why would anyone do such a thing? I guess the answer is, why not? It’s ridiculous and fun. It’s a challenge and I figure it’s now or never. I’m not working full time. No kids. I don’t know that I’ll ever have the time, or the motivation, to do this again.

Don’t worry, I have no dilusions of grandeur. This is never going to be published, let alone read by anyone who is not my close relative and/or bribed with baked goods.

But as the website says, what could be better than referring to passages of your “as yet un-published novel” at cocktail parties?

“Let’s write laughably awful yet lengthy prose together.”     Indeed.

Have you ever tried something like this? How did it go? Any other NoNoWriMo participants out there?

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. LB #

    I certainly hope there will be a plot line that takes place in Pompano Beach, Florida.

    October 31, 2010
  2. stmemory #

    Sadly, it won’t take place in Pompano Beach. But I am going to incorporate that dead chihuahua story you told me the other day. Keep feeding me good material like that.

    November 1, 2010
  3. Rebecca #

    This is the best thing ever. I will host a cocktail party when you’re done JUST so you can throw out that line. Brilliant.

    November 2, 2010
    • stmemory #

      I’m sure your classmates at Oxford have several as-yet unpublished novels in the works!

      November 5, 2010
  4. My cat fell asleep on my laptop the other day and wrote a 6400-character tweet (surprisingly not accepted by the website). Does that count? 😉

    November 5, 2010
    • stmemory #

      Hilarious! I’m sure about half way through the process I’ll want to do something similar just to keep my word count up. Although maybe that would only be one really long word.

      November 5, 2010

Leave a Reply

