Skip to content

My personal digital divide

This weekend I was looking for pictures of previous trips to Philadelphia and couldn’t find them anywhere on our computer. And then I remembered, those pictures were taken with a regular film camera.

We came a bit late to the digital camera party. Partly because we were given a very nice film camera by my husband’s parents, so it seemed silly to use anything else. But now our photographs are split by a digital divide, pre and post digital camera. Our personal digital divide is somewhere around early 2008.

We bought our digital camera before our trip to Peru. I went there for a few days for my job, and then my husband came down and we stayed for a week to explore the Cusco region and see Machu Picchu. It was liberating to take as many pictures as we wanted, without worrying about wasting film. They were easier to share and actually, I find myself going back to look at them more than other photos since I spend so much time in front of the computer. But with a few exceptions, those are the earliest photos we have on our computer. We got married 6 years ago and I have no digital photos of our wedding. It’s like we were married in a different era.

At first I thought the answer was to print the digital photographs and add them to our physical albums. But now that almost seems like we’d be going backwards. What makes more sense now is scanning all of the old physical photos into digital form. I guess that’s another project for another day. One of my aunts has taken on the huge task of converting my grandpa’s old slides (remember those!) into digital photos on a CD.

When is your personal digital divide? What have you done to bridge the gap between your photos taken with film and your digital photos?

Finally, in honor of the trip that forced the digital camera issue, here are some favorite pics from our trip to Peru.

Click for more.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. I got my first digital camera as a high school graduation present, right when digital cameras were first becoming affordable for the plebes, so most of my photos are digital. However, I come from a long line of amateur photographers, and we have who knows how many albums of print photos. In fact, our lockbox at our bank is nothing but negatives – every year we make a deposit of the year’s most important negatives so we can save them in case a fire hits us.

    June 6, 2010
  2. I’m a dork and for the longest time WAS printing out all of my digital photos. I like having them in my hand to look at, and just not on the computer. Thankfully, with so many companies out there who print photo books, it’s far easier to show off your favorite places.

    But I do have boxes and boxes of negatives and duplicate prints from my non-digital photos somewhere in storage…

    June 8, 2010
  3. It’s Friday, and that means that the Weekly State Department Blog Roundup is up – and you’re on it!

    Here is the link:
    http://bit.ly/aic8FC

    (If I quoted your text or used your photo(s) and you would rather I had not, please let me know. Please also be sure to check the link(s) that I put up to you, in order to verify that they work properly. If you would rather that I had not referenced you, and/or do not want me to reference you in the future, please also contact me.)

    Thanks!

    June 11, 2010
  4. Our digital divide is well divided. Hy husbands office at the time had a very nice epson camera that he could borrow for special events and I used a film camera the rest of the time. We did that for about two years. So we have birthdays and the like on digital but lots of everyday events from the same time period as prints. We have been totally digital since about 2004. Now we take around 15,000 pictures a year. Not having to worry about printing costs really frees you up to play with the camera. Of course it does take a bit of disk space to handle all those pictures. My techie husband has a mac mini hooked to the TV and has it play a random digital slideshow of our pictures on the screen while itunes provides music. The kids love it. They will sit and watch shouting out “Remember when we climbed the volcano? Remember going to the sailing club?” I think it keeps their memories vibrant. I have used the mac program iphoto to create books to be printed using the photos. Like a modern slick version of the photo album, but I never have to worry about the photos falling out.

    Do always make backups of those precious digital pictures on discs or external hard drive, sort of a digital version of Hannah’s bank box.

    June 15, 2010

Leave a Reply

