Skip to content

Colorado Vacation

We’re back from vacation. A vacation from work, and I guess from blogging.  We went to Colorado to spend time with my family.  And in good Colorado fashion there was snow and sunburn weather all in the same week.

Our time was filled with reconnecting with friends, horseback riding, hiking, getting a massage, sorting through old boxes of high school memorabilia (apparently my candle collecting phase was worse than I thought), and taking walks in the Ponderosa Pine forest behind our house with the pug.  It was also the last time I’ll see my family before heading to our first post in August, so goodbyes seemed particularly acute.

Sometimes I think I’m crazy for having moved away from the mountains.  I’m glad my family is there, so I always have an excuse to go back. And who can stay away from this little guy for too long?

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beautiful pictures! And I love the pug!

    May 18, 2010
  2. Dave Wilcox #

    Am I to take from this that Pug is representative of the entire family or is the one member of the family that is hard to stay away from?

    May 18, 2010
    • stmemory #

      Well the word for pet in Spanish is mascota – like mascot. So in a sense, pug is the family mascot, representing us to the world. If we had a family coat of arms, I think the pug would feature prominently on it – which would be quite wonderful, really.

      May 18, 2010
  3. Brian #

    Where in Colorado? The schoolhouse looks familiar but can’t quite place it.

    June 17, 2010
    • stmemory #

      This was in Hartsel, CO, which is in Park County. It’s on highway 24, west of woodland park. Not much of a town, but I think people there like it that way!

      June 17, 2010
  4. Hey, enjoyed your blog. I always like to hear from fellow Colorado travelers. Check out my personal website: http://www.theoutdoorbuffet.com

    I discuss my families travels to Colorado, Wyoming and Arizona. Have a great day!

    Dave

    January 12, 2011

Leave a Reply

