Skip to content

You are Here

With Flag Day a full 6 months behind us, we have told a lot of people where we’re going, and their reactions have been quite interesting. They usually fall in two camps: people who can’t believe our luck, and others who are doing their best to hide their sympathy, and in one case, horror.

Horror? Isn’t that too strong of a word?  Usually, yes. But you should have seen the look on the dental hygienist’s face when I told her that I would probably not be here in six months for my next checkup because we were moving to Nicaragua for 2 years.  Apparently she had recently returned from a short-term service trip to Managua doing dental work for the children who live near the city dump.  The children were strangers to toothbrushes let alone basic dental care.  She got misty-eyed when she described the heroic work of the local dentists that volunteered their time to work with these kids.  She also insisted that I get a fluoride treatment immediately, because the water down there was certainly not fluorinated.

That was by far the worst reaction that I’ve gotten to L’s assignment.  Most people either know nothing about Nicaragua (that’s in Central America, right?) or know that Nicaragua has had its fair share of problems.  It is, after all, the second poorest country in the Western Hemisphere, beat only by Haiti.  Its history has been tangled with U.S. interests for over a century (remember William Walker?).

On the other hand, those who know us well know that it’s a country we’ve both visited and are interested in.  When we called my in-laws after the Flag Day ceremony, Nicaragua was their first guess!

I’m excited specifically for Nicaragua. But more generally, I’m excited to live overseas again and to start the international part of this adventure.  It’s hard not to wish the months away until we can get on that plane. Instead, I have to remember that I’m here now. Maybe I should hang this print over my desk at home and at work:

Print available for purchase on Etsy by farouche.
The text in the black dot says “In the vastness of space and time may you be present here and now.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Bridget #

    wow, Nicaragua is one that I would think people would react pretty positively to. I guess that’s just my friends, not the world at large…I’ve never been, but I’m dying to go. Good luck with the waiting….

    April 13, 2010
  2. I need one of those also, since we are gearing up for our move to Prague via D.C. and it is so hard to be in those two places mentally instead of in Kolkata.

    We had the same experience with Kolkata, in that some people couldn’t contain their worry, others had no idea, and those who had been (mostly those with relatives or born there) couldn’t contain their excitement. Looks like a sign of a wonderful post!

    April 14, 2010
    • stmemory #

      Thanks. I’m sure you get pretty good reactions about Prague. So good, you might have to keep a guest room available for all the visitors!

      April 14, 2010

Leave a Reply

