Skip to content

Making a list

Best of the year lists + best of the decade lists + holiday gift guides = sensory overload.

Fortunately I spotted these j.crew slippers earlier in the year and could give my husband clear hints that these would be a real hit. Christmas came early and now my feet are snuggly warm as I complete my online Christmas shopping.  Here are some of the end of the year lists that caught my eye.

Music:

Books:

  • Best of 2009: A Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore. I’m calling this the winner because it’s the only book that both the New York Times and Washington Post have in common in their Best of 2009 lists.
  • Best of the decade: Paste Magazine picks The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon.
    I haven’t read either of these books and I can’t say that I’m dying to, given all of the other books already on my to-read list. I guess I’ll add these on the end of the list.

NY Times Year in Ideas:

Favorite Holiday Gift Guides

It’s almost too much to handle. Time to turn off the computer.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. I’m off to the library to pick up Michael Chabon’s book. I’ll let you know what I think.

    December 19, 2009

Leave a Reply

