Skip to content

Nicaragua: Land of Lakes and Volcanoes

Volcan Concepcion Stamp

Source

It’s been a week since Flag Day, and the fact that we’re moving to Nicaragua is slowly sinking in.  The more I think about it, the more excited I get.  Both of us have been to Nicaragua before – I lived there for 6 months in college for an internship and then we both visited about 3 years ago for vacation.  I’m sure we’ll be in for a lot of surprises and adjustments, but it’s nice to already have a general feel for the country’s unique geography, food, culture and political history.

We aren’t expected to leave for about a year, so we should have plenty of time to prepare and get organized.  And ideally I’ll be able to line something up for work.  I hope the fact that I speak Spanish and have lived there before will help me find something interesting and ideally paid. Preferably in the international development/assistance sector – focusing on grant and contract administration.  Tips welcome!

A year seems so far away. But there are plenty of things to get organized: finances, insurance, legal documents, clutter. And questions to answer: should we sell the car we just bought in June or take it with us? What will our digs be like in Managua, and do we really have to ship down a lawnmower like they recommend? What kind of stuff is worth buying here vs. buying down there: Honey Nut Cheerios? Pine nuts? My embarrassingly expensive favorite shampoo?

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Rebecca #

    By the way – I helped our Nica staff with a proposal this week; I’m trying to build in a job for you. What do you want?🙂

    October 27, 2009

Leave a Reply

