Skip to content

Tostones

For the second year in a row, my brother has given me a great cookbook for Christmas. Last year I was lucky enough to get Heidi Swanson‘s Super Natural Cooking. Her blog is one of my favorites. This year, in anticipation of our Nicaraguan adventure, he gave me a book by Trudy Espinoza-Abrams called Nicaraguan Cooking: My Grandmother’s Recipes.

In deciding what to tackle first, I skipped over the Sopa de Mondongo (cow tripe soup) and the Pinol de Iguana. If you are wondering why, let me quote the first line of the iguana recipe, “Cut off the head, make an incision in the abdomen, and remove the innards and any eggs of a female.”  Maybe I’ll be adventurous enough to eat Iguana Stew, but making it is another matter.

Finally I settled on one of my favorites when I visited Nicaragua: tostones – refried plantain patties. They can be served as an appetizer but are usually served as a side dish instead of a tortilla or bread. Another reason I picked them as my first attempt from the book was because there is only one ingredient other than salt and oil – how bad could it be? Overall they turned out pretty well.  I’m sure if I made them more often I would be more efficient with my time, space, and the number of paper towels and wax paper I went through.  But I can only hope my other attempts at Nicaraguan cooking go this well.

You will need 2 green plantains, peeled, cut into 1-inch thick rounds. I found it was much easier to peel them after they were cut, rather than peel a whole plantain.

Heat the oil to moderate heat. Carefully, add plantain rounds; fry until lightly yellow on both sides. Remove. Place on a paper towel to drain. Repeat with the rest. In the picture below, the brighter yellow plantains have been flipped over.

Place a plantain round between 2 pieces of paper towel (I found wax paper works much better) and mash flat with your hand. Do the same with the remaining plantains.

Return plantain rounds to oil; refry until golden brown.

Transfer the refried plantains to a paper towel; sprinkle with salt. I used coarse salt to add some texture and visual appeal.

If you want, you can serve them with any kind of cheese or cream. Most of the cheeses listed in the book are not very common in U.S. grocery stores. I used sour cream because I couldn’t find any crema in our store. I garnished the tostones with chives. I’m not sure if that’s really Nicaraguan, but it looked pretty. Overall they were quite tasty and very simple. Maybe I’ll step it up next time and make a dish with more than one ingredient.

Recipe by Trudy Espinoza-Abrams.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ian Wilcox #

    Those look downright delicious! I’m looking forward to having some of your tasty Nicaraguan cuisine in the future. In the meantime I think you should go to a pet store in DC and ask them how their Iguanas taste.

    January 3, 2010
  2. stmemory #

    ha! will do. While I’m at it, I’ll ask if the guinea pigs are fat enough to eat yet, or if I should come back next week.

    January 3, 2010
  3. Thanks for sending me the link to your blog. Your tostones look awesome (that sounds kinda’ weird, doesn’t it?). Also great tip on peeling after slicing – I’ll try it next time. Ugggg, the plantains leave such a nasty film on my hands.

    We are an in-process tandem couple (I made the consular register in February), we have traveled in Nicaragua and we have a friend from my husband’s A-100 class in Managua right now – so needless to say, I will be following your blog! Thanks!

    Jodi
    (For Lack of Tacos)

    April 14, 2010
  4. Hey, I just wanted to say thanks for the wonderful comments. I happen to be her daughter and by chance came across this blog as I was looking for something else for a friend. It’s nice to know that people are adventurous and wanting to try new things. I remember the first time I made lengua and that was an experience;-) BTW, I just got back from Nicaragua myself, and I ate tostones everyday, they happen to be my favorite.

    Keep up the interesting blogs, I look forward to reading more of your adventures.

    Jessina

    January 24, 2011
    • stmemory #

      I’m so happy you left a comment. I’ve really enjoyed your mother’s cookbook. It’s easy to follow and has a great variety of recipes. I still haven’t cooked lengua yet, but now you’ve given me motivation to try. Maybe I’ll add that to my 2011 resolutions!

      January 27, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. A taste of things to come: gallo pinto « Short Term Memory

Leave a comment